ConveyThis vs Localize: the short answer
Localize and ConveyThis install the same way but sell to different buyers. Both add a JavaScript snippet (or a platform plugin) that detects your content, translates it and serves it in each language. Localize adds a translation management platform on top, aimed at B2B SaaS teams: AI and human translation workflows, in-context review, user groups and permissions, audit logs, SLA-backed support and guided implementation. It prices every customer by quote.
ConveyThis publishes its prices and lets you start free. It has twelve plans from Starter at $12 a month to Extreme at $960, a permanent Free plan with no card, and multilingual SEO (language URLs, hreflang, translated meta tags) on every plan. It is built mainly for websites and stores rather than web applications.
In short, a product or localization team translating a web app, with approval steps and compliance requirements, should talk to Localize. A marketing site, a store or a content site that wants to know the price today should look at ConveyThis. The sections below give the details.
ConveyThis vs Localize at a glance
| Fact (checked 28 Sep 2026) | ConveyThis | Localize |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Website translation service with a snippet and platform plugins | Translation management platform for websites and web apps, delivered through a snippet and integrations |
| Pricing | Public: Free, then $12 to $960 per month; yearly at ten months' price; Enterprise custom | Tailored quote only; no prices on the pricing page |
| What drives the price | Translated words, languages, domains and monthly translation requests (page loads) | Content volume, pageviews, languages and workflow requirements such as review steps and approvals |
| Try before paying | Permanent Free plan: 5,000 words, 1 language, 2,500 page loads a month, no card required | 14-day free trial of all features; no credit card required; no free plan listed |
| Translation | Automatic machine translation you can edit; professional translation can be ordered | AI-assisted translation workflows with human review and editing |
| Glossary and translation memory | Both | Both |
| Review and permissions | Team roles for translators and reviewers | In-context review, user groups and permissions, translation quality workflows |
| Audit and support | Enterprise tier | Advanced analytics and audit logs; SLA-backed support options |
| Multilingual SEO | Every plan: language URLs, automatic hreflang, translated meta tags and JSON-LD | Advanced SEO (rendering, indexing, hreflang) included in the Advanced Plan |
| Integrations | WordPress plugin, Shopify app, 35 integration guides, any site by snippet | WordPress, Webflow, Drupal, Contentful, React and custom JavaScript apps, Zendesk, ReadMe and a long list of other guides |
| Supported languages | 210 | Not stated as a single figure on the pages we read |
Sources: localizejs.com/pricing, the Localize home page, its Advanced SEO, content management and integrations pages, and conveythis.com/pricing, all read on 28 September 2026.
Pricing: a quote against a price list
We cannot put Localize's prices next to ours, because Localize does not publish them. Its pricing page says pricing "depends on the scale and complexity of your localization program, such as content volume, pageviews, languages, and workflow requirements like review steps and approvals," and that "a company running one static website pays differently than one managing a web app across 10 languages." The next step it offers is a call with a localization expert.
That model makes sense for the buyers Localize targets, where implementation and workflow design are part of the purchase. It does not suit you if you want to compare costs before speaking to anyone. For reference, here is what ConveyThis charges for common types of website:
| Your site | ConveyThis plan (per month) | Included |
|---|---|---|
| Small site, 1 language | Free, or Starter at $12 | 5,000 words and 2,500 page loads (Free); 30,000 words and 15,000 page loads (Starter) |
| Marketing site, 3 languages | Business, $24 | 100,000 words, 50,000 page loads |
| Content-heavy site, 5 languages, up to 3 domains | Pro, $64 | 400,000 words, 200,000 page loads |
| Large site, 14 languages, up to 10 domains | Optimum, $160 | 1,000,000 words, 500,000 page loads |
| Enterprise scale, up to 100 languages | Extreme, $960, or custom Enterprise | 10,000,000 words, 5,000,000 page loads, 50 domains |
Both count traffic. Localize names pageviews as one of its pricing factors; ConveyThis caps monthly translation requests (page loads) on every plan. If your site is busy, ask Localize how pageviews affect your quote, and check the page-load row on the ConveyThis pricing page.
To compare fairly, count your words and monthly pageviews once, check them against the ConveyThis pricing page, and give the same figures to Localize for a quote. Our free website word counter does the first half.
How we scored them
Every comparison on this site uses the same five weighted criteria, published on our comparison methodology page. Scores are out of five; the weighted total is the sum of score × weight. Where Localize does not publish something, we score only what it does publish.
| Criterion (weight) | ConveyThis | Localize | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| Website deployment (30%) | 5 | 5 | Both install with a snippet and detect content automatically. ConveyThis adds a WordPress plugin and a Shopify app; Localize adds support for dynamic web apps and a long list of integration guides. For a website, we found no meaningful difference. |
| Localization workflow (25%) | 4 | 5 | Both have a glossary and translation memory. Localize adds in-context review, translation quality workflows, user groups and workflow visibility, which is the depth a localization team running approvals needs. ConveyThis offers team roles, a visual editor and CSV/TMX import. |
| Multilingual SEO (20%) | 5 | 4 | ConveyThis includes language URLs, hreflang and translated meta tags on every plan. Localize says Advanced SEO, which handles rendering, indexing and hreflang, is part of its Advanced Plan, and the pages we read do not describe the URL structures it uses. |
| Cost model (15%) | 4 | 2 | ConveyThis publishes every plan and has a free one, but caps words and page loads. Localize publishes no prices, so a buyer cannot estimate cost without a sales conversation. |
| Governance (10%) | 4 | 5 | Localize lists user groups and permissions, advanced analytics and audit logs, and SLA-backed support options. ConveyThis offers team roles and an enterprise tier. |
| Weighted total | 4.50 | 4.35 | 5×0.30 + 4×0.25 + 5×0.20 + 4×0.15 + 4×0.10 against 5×0.30 + 5×0.25 + 4×0.20 + 2×0.15 + 5×0.10. |
The totals are close and follow the short answer: Localize scores higher on workflow and governance, and ConveyThis scores higher on SEO and cost transparency. If approval workflows and audit logs matter more to you than our weights assume, Localize comes out ahead.
Where Localize is the better choice
Choose Localize, or stay on it, if one of these applies to you:
- You are translating a web application as well as a website. Localize describes support for dynamic content and React-based and custom JavaScript apps, and positions itself for product and web teams.
- Your translations go through review and approval. In-context review, translation quality workflows, user groups and workflow visibility are the center of Localize's product, and they go further than ConveyThis's team roles.
- You need audit logs and an SLA. Localize lists advanced analytics and audit logs and SLA-backed support options. ConveyThis does not publish those on its pricing page.
- You want a partner to plan the rollout. Localize includes implementation planning, workflow guidance and ongoing optimization support, and the quote pays for that.
- You want to test every feature before paying. Localize's 14-day trial covers all features with no card. ConveyThis's Free plan is permanent but limited to 5,000 words and one language.
Where ConveyThis is the better choice
- You want to know the price now. Every ConveyThis plan is on the pricing page, from $12 a month to $960, with yearly billing at ten months' price.
- You have a small site and want to keep it on a free plan. The Free plan has no time limit and needs no card.
- You want search visibility on every plan. ConveyThis serves each language on its own URL with automatic hreflang and translated meta tags from the Free plan up. Localize places its Advanced SEO in the Advanced Plan.
- You run a website or a store rather than an app. The ConveyThis WordPress plugin, Shopify app and 35 integration guides are made for that.
- You already paid for translations. ConveyThis imports CSV and TMX files on every plan, including Free.
- You need a long list of languages. ConveyThis supports 210 languages, and Localize does not state a single figure on the pages we read.
Feature comparison
| Feature | ConveyThis | Localize |
|---|---|---|
| JavaScript snippet with automatic content detection | Yes | Yes |
| Dynamic web-app content (React, custom JavaScript) | Websites first | Yes, described on its site |
| Visual or in-context editing | Visual editor on the live page | In-context review |
| Glossary | Yes | Yes |
| Translation memory | Yes | Yes, AI-assisted |
| Review and approval workflows | Team roles | Yes, with user groups and permissions |
| Audit logs | Not listed on our pricing page | Yes |
| Automatic hreflang | Every plan | Advanced Plan |
| CSV/TMX import | Yes, every plan | Not described on the pages we read |
| Public prices | Yes | No |
| Free plan / trial | Permanent Free plan | 14-day free trial |
The rows come from each vendor's public pages on 28 September 2026. "Not described" means we could not find the feature on Localize's own pages, which does not prove the feature is missing. If you rely on it, ask Localize before you decide.
Trying ConveyThis next to Localize
If you are evaluating both, run them on the same pages so that you judge them on your own content rather than on either company's marketing.
- Pick three pages that matter: a landing page, a pricing or product page, and a long article or help page.
- Create a free ConveyThis account, add your site (a staging copy is fine) and translate those pages into one language.
- Start Localize's 14-day trial on the same pages and the same language.
- Compare the raw machine translation, then the effort to fix it: how long it takes to correct a sentence, add a glossary term and have a colleague review it.
- Get both prices for your real word count and pageviews: ConveyThis from the pricing page, Localize from its sales team.
If you move existing translations across, ConveyThis imports CSV and TMX files; the CSV/TMX import help article covers the formats.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Localize cost?
Localize does not publish prices. Its pricing page, read on 28 September 2026, says pricing is tailored and depends on content volume, pageviews, languages and workflow requirements such as review steps and approvals, and it asks you to talk to a localization expert for a quote. ConveyThis publishes twelve plans, from a free plan to $960 a month, plus custom Enterprise terms.
Does Localize have a free plan or a free trial?
Localize offers a free trial: its home page says you can try all features for 14 days, and its pricing page says no credit card is required. It does not list a free plan. ConveyThis has a permanent Free plan (5,000 words, one language, 2,500 page loads a month, no card required) and no timed trial of paid plans.
Is Localize good for SEO?
Localize says its Advanced SEO handles rendering, indexing and hreflang automatically, and that Advanced SEO is part of the Localize Advanced Plan. ConveyThis serves each language on its own URL with automatic hreflang and translated meta tags on every plan, including Free.
Which is better for translating a web app?
Localize. It describes support for dynamic content and modern JavaScript implementations such as React, plus review workflows, user groups and audit logs aimed at product teams. ConveyThis is built first for websites and stores: marketing sites, blogs, catalogs and help pages on WordPress, Shopify, Webflow and other platforms.
Do both have a glossary and translation memory?
Yes. Localize lists glossaries and translation memory, and describes an AI-assisted translation memory on its content-management page. ConveyThis includes glossary rules, translation memory, team roles and CSV/TMX import.
How this comparison was made
Localize facts were read from localizejs.com/pricing, the home page and its Advanced SEO, content management and integrations pages; ConveyThis facts from conveythis.com/pricing. All were read on 28 September 2026. Scores follow the weights on our methodology page, and the table shows the arithmetic, so you can check each score yourself. Our editorial policy explains how comparisons are researched and reviewed. If Localize publishes prices or changes its plans before our next quarterly check, please tell us at [email protected].
For other tools, the alternatives hub compares ConveyThis with website translation tools including Weglot and Linguise, and with translation management systems such as Lokalise, Transifex and Smartling.
